IPs have bright contribution in the world sports arena: Nirupa Dewan


Hill Voice, 2 March 2024, Rangamati: A month-long football tournament, in memory of late Dr. Ramendu Shekhar Dewan, the lifelong warrior to establish the self-determination to Jumma people in Chittagong Hill Tracts (CHT), was inaugurated at Kanta Smriti playground in Rangapani area yesterday, on March 1 at 3 pm.

Nirupa Dewan, General Secretary of Rangamati District Women’s Sports Association (RDWSA) inaugurated the event. During it, the Chairman of CHT Regional Council (CHTRC) Jyotirindra Bodhipriya Larma, president of CHT Region chapter of Bangladesh Indigenous Peoples Forum Prakriti Ranjan Chakma, prominent poet and writer Shishir Chakma, renowned singer Ranjit Dewan, member of CHTRC Chanchu Chakma, and eminent intellectuals of civil society and dignitaries of Rangapani area were present as special guests among others. Jiko Chakma, the member secretary of the organizing committee, conducted the event.

The member of the host committee Ashika Chakma read out the brief biography of Dr. Ramendu Shekhar Dewan (Dr. R S Dewan) in the opening phase.

The Convenor, Jewel Chakma said in the greeting speech, Dr. R S Dewan was a pioneer of the movement to establish self-determination to the Jumma people in CHT. He dedicated all his life to propagate the Jumma people movement around the globe. Dr. R S Dewan Memorial Football Tournament has been organized to perpetuate his ethic and spirit. He urged all to nurture his spirit and ideals.

Inaugurator Nirupa Dewan said, Dr. R S Dewan Memorial Football Tournament is a very beautiful platform. This tournament should not be just limited in sports, but it should be considered as a means of exercising the continuity of efforts to uphold the spirit of indigenous rights. Many indigenous players from the CHT are making a glorious contribution to the world sports arena. They represent the society, the nation and us. They as the messenger are introducing the indigenous peoples to the world arena as did R S Dewan.

After the speech of the speakers, General Secretary of the RDWSA Nirupa Dewan and the CHTRC Chairman Jyotirindra Bodhipriya Larma inaugurated the tournament by releasing balloons and the opening match started. The CU indigenous Team and Katachari Janakalyan Bahumukhi Samity faced each other in the match.

In the opening match, the CU Team defeated Katachari Janakalyan Bahumukhi Samiti by 4-2. The CU indigenous football team player Changlak Mro was man of the match in the event. The prizes were distributed by the CHTRC chairman Jyotirindra Bodhipriya Larma.