Bilaichari UP chairman shot by miscreants

Photo: Injured UP Chairman Atomong Marma

Hill Voice, 22 May 2024, Rangamati: The Chairman of Barthali Union Parishad of Bilaichari Upazila of Rangamati District, Atomong Marma, has been seriously injured in a firing by unidentified miscreants.

The incident reportedly took place on May 21 (Tuesday) around 11 pm yesterday.

According to the family and local sources, yesterday was the Bilaichari Upazila Parishad election under the 2nd phase of the 6th Upazila Parishad election. After completing electoral works in Barthali Union area, Chairman Atomong Marma was having dinner at his house in Barthali Para village. At that time, 2 men rushed into the house and shot at him with 2 local made guns. Atomong Marma was shot in the left shoulder and left thigh.

In the middle of the night, with the help of the local army and the villagers carrying him on their shoulders, he was taken to the Ruma Upazila Health Complex of Bandarban on foot. After reaching Ruma Upazila Health Complex at 5:45 am, the doctor on duty advised to take him to Bandarban District Headquarter Hospital after providing first aid.

As per latest report, the victim was taken to Chittagong Medical College Hospital early today (May 22) for better treatment.

In 2023, Atomong Marma was elected as the chairman supported by Parbatya Chattagram Jana Samhati Samiti in Barthali Union Parishad election.

The identity of the assailants could not be known immediately.

However, a source asserted that, with the instigation of member of Ward No. 5 of Barthali Marma Para Shwehlaching Marma, member of Ward No. 4 Weber Tripura, Awami League supported candidate in 2015 Union Parishad election as well as known to be associated with UPDF (Democratic) Sujan Tripura (Master), and contender for the post of chairman in Barthali Union Parisad election in 2023 and AL president of Barthali Union Satya Chandra Tripura, the attack was taken place on Atomong Marma.

Sources said that the miscreants shot Atomong Marma attempting to kill him.

It is to be noted that till writing of this report, it is known that the chairman candidate Birottam Tanchangya and the vice chairman candidate Bankim Chandra Tanchangya supported by the PCJSS were unofficially declared as winners in the Bilaichari upazila parishad election.